The Power of Ever

Megan has shot up an inch recently. And that’s not the only development we noticed. She has also developed a knack for asking “Why”, as well as a good grasp on the meaning of cause and effect.

Her brother and her are like magnets, except they switch polarities frequently. Either they are playing crazily together and having a great time, or engaging in a swordfight with words.

I love it though, that I get to observe gender differences through my kids. Couple that with their different personalities, some differences can be very stark.

When Matthew is unhappy with his sister, the first thing he yells is “HEY!!! MeiMei (insert ‘crime’ here)!“. Once the ‘bomb’ has been difused, he is back to his nonchalant self again. He doesn’t bear grudges.

Megan, on the other hand, handles it differently.

The kids were happily chatting and playing some imaginery game in increasing decibels in the car one day. That was until I turned my head around and gave Matthew a though-my-eyes-are-sunglass-covered-but-you-know-I’m-staring-at-you-yes-you glare. He got the look straight away and attempted to bring his emotions under control. Megan, because I didn’t want to twist my whole body to glare at her, didn’t feel the impact. She continued to try and engage her brother into mischief.

“I don’t want to play with you.” was Matthew’s unhelpful answer.

“Why you don’t want to play with me?” Megan immediately retorted.

“I don’t want to play with you.” Matthew repeated his oh-so-helpful reply.

Megan got angry. “Hmmmph, you don’t want to play with me, I don’t want to play with you. EH-VERH!” And I heard her cross her arms and shift her body, presumably to stare out of the window. Matthew was his nonchalant self.

There was momentary silence though. Megan’s forceful “Ever” bomb reverberated in the car. The Man and I turned and looked at each other through our sunglasses, with raised eyebrows and questions in our heads. Where did she learn the word “Ever’ from? How did she perfect the use of “Ever” in this context?

When did our little girl grow up without our knowledge? That was a good use of “Ever”, by the way. But I think it’s time to pay more attention to Megan’s development…

Leave a Reply

