2012, A Year of Early Gifts

When I was younger, I had romantic dreams of owning all the things I desire materialistically; bags, luxurious stationery, watches, the like.

Now that I’m much older, and not particularly blessed in the monetary department, I’ve come to realise that all my materialistic desires were merely wants, albeit strong ones. I’ve learned to discern between needs and wants.

Nevertheless, I still enjoy luxurious gifts once in a while, when they come my way. Especially when they are given to me by my best friend.

It’s funny that the start and end of 2012 should reduce me to a childlike state; whirling around with my precious gifts, hugging and kissing them, with a silly grin on my face as I look adoringly at my gift angel.

I asked for a KS wallet for my birthday at the beginning of the year to replace my old one that was fraying at the seams, and received a handbag as well.

I casually said I would like a iPad Mini for Christmas, knowing it’s a gift that is a little too expensive to dream of. And pushed the thought out of my mind.

The next thing I knew, more than 1 month before year end, I received this:

My iPad Mini, engraved with words that made it mine and mine alone.

Nevermind the naysayers and negative reviews of the iPad Mini. It’s the thought that I am in the thoughts of my best friend that matter. And that I matter enough for him to splurge on gifts like these, when we have other things that require financial prudence, that warms the cockles of my heart.

In return, I could only manage this as his early year-end gift:

Hope he’ll enjoy his gift, as much as I’m enjoying mine.

Have a great rest of 2012, and an even more wonderful 2013 ahead, Kelvin. My best friend.

One comment

  1. Pingback: How I Survived Sitex 2012 « Tequila Intoxicated Earthling

Leave a Reply

